Knocking on hells door


I will admit, that hell is probably made up.
Something conceived to keep the illiterate in line.

But it serves a great purpose in my mind.
It helps me articulate the way I feel.
Gives me a mental picture to paint.
When I am on the edge.
When I know the darkness is ahead.
I feel it is like, knocking on the door to hell.

It would not be like knocking on heaven’s door.
For heaven’s door you would have to wait.
You would have your life picked apart.
You would have to justify all of your mistakes.
Prove you worth and await your fate.

But in hell, things go at a different pace.
As soon as you knock, you do not have to wait.
As all are welcome through the open door.
They require no proof of faith.
No questions asked, no debate.
Just stroll on through.
As hell awaits.

It gladly welcomes your self doubt.
All of your flaws and mistakes.
All your self hatred and remorse.
Your broken spirit.
Anything is allowed.

You can even drag yourself back out.
That is allowed.
Everything is free here.
Feel free to browse.
But there is always a cost.
Check the small print though.
Before you get lost.

It’s like a never ending maze.
A puzzle that cannot be solved.
Look for meaning and you will not find one.
It is all just an ambush.

Do not think though, that you will have control.
Your mind will sew the seeds.
You will not know what will grow.
Until it is unleashed.
By then it is too late.
That is when you try and head back through the door.

I have to often just slipped through the door.
Not realising my mistake.
But you live and you learn.
You try again.
Try and help other people to not knock on hell’s door.

Leave a comment